New $5 Aussie coin to honour heritage sites

New  Aussie coin to honour heritage sites

A new $5 coin honouring some of Australia’s World Heritage wonders has been created in honour cultural conservation ahead of the 21st annual General Assembly and Scientific Symposium.

The collectable coin features images of all 20 Australian World Heritage Properties, including images of prehistoric rainforest wilderness and ancient Aboriginal settlements to unique landscapes and natural attractions, as well as convict sites and iconic 20th century buildings.

Designed by the Royal Australian Mint coin designer Tony Dean, the $5 frosted uncirculated coin was released on Thursday.

The coin depicts a handprint, fan palm frond and a shell fossil to represent the natural and built icons and Australia’s Indigenous heritage.

It also features The Queen Elizabeth II Memorial Obverse, designed by renowned British engraver, Jody Clark.

The Mint partnered with the International Council on Monuments and Sites (ICOMOS) to produce the coin in recognition of ICOMOS being held in Australia for the first time.

Convener of the ICOMOS General Assembly Professor Richard Mackay said the new coin’s role would encourage community awareness of the Australia’s natural heritage.

“This amazing coin highlights the diversity of Australia’s internationally-significant heritage and will encourage awareness of our unique biodiversity, deep Indigenous connections with Country and extraordinary cultural places,” he said.

“We are delighted that as cultural heritage experts from all around the world gather in Sydney, this coin celebrates our contribution to the world’s heritage.”

The $5 Australian Heritage Properties Sites coin is Australian legal tender and can be purchased through the Mint’s coin shop, call centre and authorised dealers from September 7.

Australia’s heritage sites depicted on the coin are:

  • Australian Convict Sites
  • Budj Bim Cultural Landscape
  • Royal Exhibition Building and Carlton Gardens
  • Sydney Opera House
  • Australian Fossil Mammal Sites (Riversleigh/Naracoorte)
  • Fraser Island (officially K’gari)
  • Gondwana Rainforests of Australia
  • Great Barrier Reef
  • Greater Blue Mountains Area
  • Heard and McDonald Islands
  • Lord Howe Island Group
  • Macquarie Island, Ningaloo Coast
  • Purnululu National Park
  • Shark Bay (Western Australia
  • Wet Tropics of Queensland
  • Kakadu National Park

Assistant Minister for Competition, Charities and Treasury, Andrew Leigh, said World Heritage status helped to protect and to publicise the existence of these extraordinary places.

“As Australians we’re fortunate to live in a country with so much natural beauty,” Dr Leigh said.

“By celebrating Australia’s World Heritage sites through this collectable coin the Royal Australian Mint is doing its bit to help the spread the word about our magnificent natural and built heritage.”

ICOMOS is a global organisation of cultural heritage professionals and acts as the principal advisory body on cultural heritage to the UNESCO World Heritage Committee.

Originally published as Australian Mint launches new $5 coin honouring World Heritage wonders