Solomon Islands Government

Solomon Islands follow the Westminster system of democracy with the British Monarch retained as head of state and represented in the country by a Governor- General.

The Prime minister, elected by parliament, is the head of government and leads a group of cabinet ministers.

The country’s 50-seat parliament is perched on a ridge overlooking Honiara city. Parliamentary representation is based on single-member constituencies.

For local government purposes, the country is divided into 10 administrative areas of which nine are provinces, administered by elected provincial members and the 10th is the city of Honiara, administered by a city council, headed by a mayor.

SIG ICT Services Contact:
Lengakiki Strip,
P.O. Box 26,
Solomon Islands.
(+677) 24580


Related Posts